Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga yoga

Ashtanga is a dynamic yoga style linking the breath to movement (Vinyasa flow). It incorporates a series of progressive postures with experienced individuals jumping from one posture to the next.

The practice realigns the posture, builds stamina, flexibility and strength in the upper torso, shoulders, core area, legs, hips and other parts of the body.

Focused, even inhalation and exhalation using Ujjai breathing linking breath to movement and eye-focus (Dristi) cultivates meditation whilst in motion.

The Bandhas (Locks) are engaged throughout much of the practice directing prana through the energy lines of the body (Nadis) as well as giving lightness and internal strength to the poses. Awareness of the Bandhas also keeps you in the present.

There are three Bandhas: Mula - pelvic floor and perineum muscles, Uddiyana - abdominal and diaphragm, ribs, and intercostals and the Jalandhara in the throat area.

The overall practice realigns the posture, cultivates awareness, strength, flexibility, develops a calm, focused mind, overall wellbeing and the experience of following a pathway to self-realisation.

Ashtanga means eight limbs and embodies the traditional eight limbs from Patanjali's yoga sutras. These sutras (stitches of the mind) written some 2000 years ago are an incredible study of the mind and gives us steps to attain spiritual freedom - enlightenment.

Shri Pattabi Jois, the current guru of Ashtanga introduced this style of Hatha yoga to the western world where it has become increasingly popular.

The yoga styles are taught for beginners and experienced students.

See the Calendar Yoga & Pilates for class times or click here for more

Ask Jane a question
  1. Name
    Invalid Input
  2. Email
    Invalid Input
  3. Message
    Invalid Input
  4. Invalid Input
© Copyright 2009 Yoga Concepts - offering Online Yoga, Vinyasa & Ashtanga Yoga, Corporate Yoga programs and Prenatal Yoga in Richmond, Melbourne.